Google's translation app, which can translate text without an internet connection, has added 20 new languages, bringing the total to 27. The new languages are Bulgarian, Catalan, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Filipino, Finnish, Hungarian, Indonesian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Slovak, Swedish, Turkish and Ukrainian.

The app will also translate from English into Hindi and Thai. 

In photo mode, which will translate language from a photo taken of a sign or other text, the app can translate 37 languages. 

The computer learned many of these new languages using a convolutional neural networks, which allows the computer to "learn" from inputs like text or images.

"Today's updates knock down a few more language barriers, helping you communicate better and get the information you need," said product leader Barak Turovsky.


facts about google translate and global languages:

 Before this update, the languages the app could translate were English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish.

 Mandarin Chinese is the most spoken language in the world, followed by Spanish, English and Hindi. 

Cover: WeAreChange